Target, La Habra

Moderator: Groceteria

Randy76

Target, La Habra

Post by Randy76 »

Hey all, I'm new to the field of commercial archaeology, but have been interested in it for a long time. I can't believe there are so many interested in it as well. I am a history student but attempting a personal project tracing back major shopping areas in the Greater Whitter, North OC area to be complete with pictures. Any help in this would be greatly appreciated.

That said, I am also an employee at Target in La Habra (Imperial Hwy at Harbor), a site which will closing in roughly July of 2008. It will be moving to the site of the old Super K (Imperial at Idaho) which I believe once was the La Habra Drive In. My question is, does anybody know what used to exist where the current Target stands? The store opened sometime in the early eighties, probably around 1983. I think there was a Zody's across the street (now Best Buy) and a Gemco right nearby (Albertson's) so I figure something must have occupied the lot prior to the Target. I am going to document the closing and move, so I was looking for hints on past businesses to search for.

Thanks,
Randy
runchadrun
Veteran

Re: Target, La Habra

Post by runchadrun »

Welcome to the board! I'm moving this to the department store forum because it's not directly related to supermarkets.

I searched through the LA Times database and couldn't find anything about the Target before 1986. Target was aggressive about building new stores in OC in the mid 80s, so it's quite possible that it has always been a Target. It wasn't a Gemco, and it wasn't a Fedmart because they were at Imperial and Beach (since torn down and replaced by Smiths, now Vons).

You are correct that the Super Kmart, which opened in 1994, was built on the site of the Pacific Drive-In, which opened in 1962. It was supposedly the first Super Kmart in California.
RandallFlagg
Contributor

Post by RandallFlagg »