San Francisco: Bayshore Boulevard ex-Marina Safeway

Uh...California.

Moderator: Groceteria

TheStranger
Veteran

San Francisco: Bayshore Boulevard ex-Marina Safeway

Post by TheStranger »

(For those who are wondering who I am, I posted on the old board under my first name Chris for quite some time tere, I'm a long-time Bay Area resident who's posted about several SSF/Daly City sites, particularly the Purity on Hillside/Spruce, a former Marina Safeway on Washington Street near Junipero Serra, and several Brentwood properties from back in the day. My new username here is generally the name I use at other forums, particularly auto racing-related ones.)

Looking up the list of SF locations of Safeway in 1975, I noticed one at I think it was 2630 Bayshore, right at the Daly City/San Francisco line...on Saturday afternoon I did a drive over there and found a Marina-shaped former store that now served as a showroom and store for a monument manufacturer across the street. (It is near the even older Safeway at 45 Leland, which I also photographed).

Here are three photos of it; the parking lot does now have an ornamental fence around it and is filled with several fountains and statues for sale so only part of it is usable as a place to park a vehicle.

Anyone know when and why this store closed? There doesn't seem to be much of a supermarket presence in the area (the Geneva Lucky having closed years earlier, the El Rancho Supermarket on Geneva closing down about 5 years ago and being finally demolished a few months back, and the nearest other ex-Safeway being up at Williams Avenue a few miles north), though the ex-Cala on Leland is nearby and right next to this site is a small corner market.
Groceteria
Great Pumpkin

Re: San Francisco: Bayshore Boulevard ex-Marina Safeway

Post by Groceteria »